Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Joshua Bell-At Home With Friends-Review

I was recently contacted by One2One Network to review the new album by Joshua Bell entitled At Home With Friends. The album was released yesterday September 29. I had to take a couple of days to listen to it to make sure I did the review. The album is truly remarkable! I have honestly never heard of Joshua Bell before or even heard his music so this was a great opportunity for me to get to hear something new. I was really impressed to say the least. This guy has real and raw talent that I haven't heard in quite a while. He covers all genres of music on this CD from classical to pop, bluegrass to Broadway, jazz and ethnic World music. There's even a couple of holiday songs mixed in. I love all types of music, so this was a real treat to listen to. This is definitely a CD to put in and listen to on a night with a nice cup of cocoa or coffee to just relax and unwind. What beautiful work!

Joshua Bell has captured the public's attention like no other classical violinist of this time. He came to national attention at the age of 14 in his debut with the Philadelphia Orchestra. He made his first recording at the age of 18. He also played Carnegie Hall, g
ot the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant and a recording contract that confirmed his presence in the music world. Today he is equally at home as a soloist, chamber musician and orchestra leader. His restless curiosity and multifaceted musical interests have taken him in exciting new directions that has earned him the rare title of "classical music superstar".
Bell received the 2008 Academy of Achievement award for exceptional accomplishment in the arts. He is the past recipient of the Mercury Music Prize and has recorded more than 30 CD's. He grew up in Bloomington, Indiana with his two sisters and he plays the 1713 Gibson ex Huberman Stradivarius Violin.

The Track list for this wonderful and remarkable album includes:

1.) I Loves You Porgy featuring Chris Botti
2.) Come Again featuring Sting
3.) Oblivion featuring Carel Kraayenhof
4.) Cinema Paradiso featuring Josh Groban
5.) Para Ti featuring Tiempo Libre
6.) My Funny Valentine featuring Kristin Chenoweth
7.) Maybe So featuring Edgar Meyer, Sam Bush and
Mike Marshall
8.) Grieg:Violin Sonata No. 3 Movement II-featuring Sergei
9.) Eleanor Rigby featuring Frankie Moreno
10.) Rachmaninoff: O, Cease Thy Singing, Maiden Fair, OP.
4 No4 featuring Nathan Gunn
11.) Il Postino featuring Carel Kraayenhof
12.) Left Hand Song featuring Regina Spektor
13.) Chovendo Na Roseria featuring Dave Grusin
14.) Look Away- featuring Edgar Meyer and Chris Thile
15.) Variant Moods: Duet for Sitar & Violin featuring
Anoushka Shankar
16.) I'll Take Manhattan featuring Marvin Hamlisch

My favorite song on this album has to be a toss up between Come Again with Sting (I love Sting!) and Cinema Paradiso with Josh Groban (another HUGE talent!) This whole album is a MUST HAVE and provides something for everyone. I would highly recommend checking out this very talented artist!

Become a fan on Facebook:

For more info an Joshua Bell including his bio, tour dates and photos, please go check out his website here:

Special thanks once again to One2One Network and Sony for giving me the opportunity to review and enjoy this great album!


Post a Comment

Created by MyFitnessPal - Free Calorie Counter

*It's not about getting thru's about getting something out of it.
Bob Harper
*I can't save you, you have to save yourself.
Jillian Michaels
*Stand up and finish what you started.
Bob Harper
*This isn't about winning a game, it's about fixing what's broken.
Bob Harper
*Can't is just a reason to quit.
Jillian Michaels
Hard Work, Dedication...-Dolvett Quince

Powered by Blogger.